How Kleptomania Works

  Prev Next  

UP NEXT

Bipolar Quiz

Bipolar Quiz

Many famous people have bipolar disorder. Find out what you know about bipolar disorder with this quiz.


Related Articles

More Great Links

Sources

  • ABC News Primetime. "Addicted to Stealing: Inside a Shoplifter's Mind." July 10, 2007. http://abcnews.go.com/Primetime/story?id=1190720&page=1
  • Adler, J. "The Thrill of Theft." Newsday, Feb. 25, 2002. http://www.diogenesllc.com/thrilltheft.pdf
  • BehaveNet clinical Capsule, DSM-IV Kleptomania. http://www.behavenet.com/capsules/disorders/kleptomaniadis.htm
  • Dell'Osso, B et al. "Epidemiologic and clinical updates on impulsecontrol disorders: a critical review." Eur Arch Psychiatry ClinNeurosci.256 (8), 464-475, 2006. http://www.pubmedcentral.nih.gov/articlerender.fcgi?tool=pubmed&pubmedid=16960655
  • Forensic Psychiatry. Kleptomania. http://www.forensicpsychiatry.ca/impulse/kleptomania.htm
  • Gazzinga, MS, and MS Steven. "Neuroscience and the Law." Scientific American Mind. April 15, 2005. http://www.sciam.com/article.cfm?id=neuroscience-and-the-law&print=true
  • Grant, JE and BL Odlaug. "Kleptomania: Clinical Characteristics and Treatment." Rev Bras Psyquiatr, 2007. http://www.scielo.br/pdf/rbp/nahead/art02.pdf
  • Grant, JE et al. "The Neurobiology of Substance and Behavioral Addictions, CNS Spectrums (CME course)." http://www.cnsspectrums.com/aspx/articledetail.aspx?articleid=912
  • Grant, JE et al. "White Matter Integrity in Kleptomania: a Pilot Study." Psychiatry Res 147 (2-3): 233-237, 2006. http://www.pubmedcentral.nih.gov/articlerender.fcgi?artid=1810346
  • Grant, JE. "Co-occurrences of Personality Disorders in Persons with Kleptomania - a Preliminary Study." J Am Acad Psychiatry Law 32: 395-398, 2004. http://www.jaapl.org/cgi/reprint/32/4/395.pdf
  • Grant, JE. "Understanding and Treating Kleptomania: New Models and New Treatments." Isr J Psychiatry Relat Scie 43: 81-87, 2006.
  • Kohn, CS. "Conceptualization and Treatment of Kleptomania Behaviors Using Cognitive and Behavioral Strategies." Int J Behav Consult Therapy 2: 553-559, 2006. http://www.behavior-analyst-today.com/IJBCT-VOL-2/IJBCT-2-4.pdf
  • MayoClinic.com. Kleptomania. http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/kleptomania/DS01034
  • Menaster, M et al. "Psychiatric Illness Associated with Criminality." eMedicine, Sept. 14, 2006. http://www.emedicine.com/med/topic3485.htm
  • National Association of Shoplifting Prevention. http://www.shopliftingprevention.org/main.asp
  • Psychiacomp. "Impulse Control Disorders." http://www.psychiacomp.com/didactic/impulse-control.php
  • Psychology Today. Kleptomania. http://psychologytoday.com/conditions/klepto.html
  • Shoplifters Anonymous. http://www.shopliftersanonymous.com/
  • Washington Post. "Antidepressants Don't Help Kleptomaniacs." March 16, 2007.http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2007/03/16/AR2007031601175.html
  • Yagoda, B. "Addicted to Stealing." Self, February 1994. http://www.shopliftingprevention.org/WhatNASPOffers/NRC/ArticlesToRead/Addicted_To_Stealing.htm