10 Most Famous Nurses in History


1
Florence Nightingale
Florence Nightingale has been memorialized in countless memorials and paintings, such as this circa 1857 portrait.
Florence Nightingale has been memorialized in countless memorials and paintings, such as this circa 1857 portrait.

She's been called "The Lady With the Lamp," "The Queen of Nurses" and "The Soldier's Friend." Florence Nightingale is possibly the most well-known nurse in history.

Nightingale was born into a wealthy British family in 1820. She heard the call to nursing early in her life, and completed her training at the Institute of Protestant Deaconesses at Kaiserswerth in Germany in 1851. But it was what she experienced during the Crimean War that changed her path from 19th century nurse to legendary nurse.

Upon her arrival on the scene in Turkey with a team of 38 nurses, Nightingale found devastating conditions: unsanitary hospitals, few or no supplies, and poor patient care. Nightingale and her nurses tended to the wounded British soldiers, many of whom were also sick with cholera and malaria, and set about improving hospital hygiene in an effort to reduce infections. It worked, and after the war, in 1860, she founded the Nightingale School of Nursing at St. Thomas' Hospital in London, where nursing students would learn not only about patient care, but also about the importance of good hygiene and sanitary conditions in medicine. The school's curriculum laid the groundwork for modern nursing education.

Related Articles

More Great Links

Sources

  • African America Registry. "Nursing Pioneer Mary Mahoney." 2007. (April 6, 2012) http://www.aaregistry.org/historic_events/view/nursing-pioneer-mary-mahoney
  • American Nurses Association. "Florence Guinness Blake (1907-1983) 1996 Inductee." (April 6, 2012) http://www.nursingworld.org/FlorenceGuinnessBlake
  • American Red Cross. "Clara Barton: Founder of the American Red Cross." (April 6, 2012) http://www.redcross.org/museum/history/claraBarton.asp
  • Biography.com "Calamity Jane" (April 6, 2012) http://www.biography.com/people/calamity-jane-9234950
  • Biography.com. "Clara Barton." (April 6, 2012) http://www.biography.com/people/clara-barton-9200960
  • Biography.com. "Dorothea Dix." (April 6, 2012) http://www.biography.com/people/dorothea-dix-9275710
  • Biography.com. "Florence Nightingale." (April 6, 2012) http://www.biography.com/people/florence-nightingale-9423539
  • Biography.com. "Lillian D. Wald." (April 6, 2012) http://www.biography.com/people/lillian-d-wald-9521707
  • Biography.com. "Margaret Sanger." (April 6, 2012) http://www.biography.com/people/margaret-sanger-9471186
  • Biography.com. "Walt Whitman." (April 6, 2012) http://www.biography.com/people/walt-whitman-9530126
  • Brieske, John. "Profile of a Famous Nurse: Florence Guinness Blake." The Atlanta Journal-Constitution. (April 6, 2012) http://www.ajc.com/jobs/profile-of-a-famous-1220018.html
  • Elgie, Rob. "Politics, Economics, and Nursing Shortages: A Look at U.S. Policies: History of the Nursing Shortage." Nursing Economic$. Vol. 25, no. 5. Pages 285-292. 2007. http://www.medscape.com/viewarticle/565608_5
  • Frontier Nursing Service. "Mrs. Mary Breckinridge." (April 6, 2012) https://www.frontiernursing.org/History/MaryBreckinridge.shtm
  • Jewish Women's Archive. "Women of Valor - Lillian Wald: Henry Street Settlement." (April 6, 2012) http://jwa.org/womenofvalor/wald/henry-street-settlement
  • Lakewood Public Library - Women in History. "Clara Barton biography." 2012. (April 6, 2012) http://www.lkwdpl.org/wihohio/bart-cla.htm
  • Lakewood Public Library - Women in History. "Martha Jane 'Calamity Jane' Cannary." 2012. (April 6, 2012) http://www.lkwdpl.org/wihohio/cana-mar.htm
  • Licensed Practical Nurse. "Five of the Most Famous Nurses in History." (April 6, 2012) http://www.licensedpracticalnurse.org/famous-nurses
  • Murray, Martin G. "Traveling with the Wounded: Walt Whitman and Washington's Civil War Hospitals." The Walt Whitman Archive. (April 6, 2012) http://whitmanarchive.org/criticism/current/anc.00156.html
  • National Association for Home Care & Hospice. "Profiles in Caring: Clara Barton." (April 6, 2012) http://www.nahc.org/NAHC/Val/Columns/SC10-1.html
  • National First Ladies' Library. "First Lady Biography: Mary Lincoln." (April 6, 2012) http://www.firstladies.org/biographies/firstladies.aspx?biography=17
  • National Women's History Museum. "Martha Jane 'Calamity Jane' Cannary (1852-1903)." http://www.nwhm.org/education-resources/biography/biographies/martha-jane-cannary/
  • North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services. "Dorothea Dix Biography." 2010. (April 6, 2012) http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dsohf/services/dix/bio.htm
  • Nursing Online Education Database - Library. "The Five Most Influential Nurses in History." 2007 (April 6, 2012) http://noedb.org/library/features/the-five-most-influential-nurses-in-history
  • PBS - American Experience: The Pill. "People & Events: Margaret Sanger (1879-1966)." (April 6, 2012) http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/amex/pill/peopleevents/p_sanger.html
  • Planned Parenthood Federation of America. "History & Successes." (April 6, 2012) http://www.plannedparenthood.org/about-us/who-we-are/history-and-successes.htm
  • The New York Times. "Miss Nightingale Dies, Aged Ninety."1910. (April 6, 2012) http://www.nytimes.com/learning/general/onthisday/bday/0512.html
  • The Nursing Degree Network. "The History of Modern Nursing." (April 6, 2012) http://www.nursingdegree.net/blog/637/the-history-of-modern-nursing/
  • Their Stamp on History. "Mary Breckinridge (1881-1964)." 2009. (April 6, 2012) http://www.stamponhistory.com/articles/article.php?article_id=6
  • Udin, Zaf. "25 Famous Nurses - Past to Present World's Popular Nursing Professionals." Pulseuniform. 2011. (April 6, 2012) http://www.pulseuniform.com/nursing/famous-nurses.asp
  • University of Virginia - Miller Center. Ämerican President: A Reference Resource." (April 6, 2012) http://millercenter.org/president/lincoln/essays/firstlady
  • U.S. Army. "Women in the U.S. Army: The Army Nurse Corps." (April 6, 2012) http://www.army.mil/women/history/nurses.html
  • Visiting Nurse Service of New York. "Lillian Wald." (April 6, 2012) http://www.vnsny.org/community/our-history/lillian-wald/

UP NEXT

How Right to Try Bypasses the FDA

How Right to Try Bypasses the FDA

Right to Try may be a terminally ill person's last hope, but is it the best idea? HowStuffWorks looks at the law.


More to Explore