Varicose Veins Causes and Treatments


Lots More Information

Related HowStuffWorks Articles

Sources

  • American Academy of Dermatologists. "Vein Treatments." April 6, 2010.http://www.skincarephysicians.com/agingskinnet/spiderveins.html
  • American Society for Aesthetic Plastic Surgery. "Surgeon Fees per Procedure." April 9. 2010.http://www.surgery.org/consumers/consumer-resources/frequently-asked-questions/cost-surgeon-fees-per-procedure
  • BabyCenter. "Varicose Veins During Pregnancy." April 7, 2010.http://www.babycenter.com/0_varicose-veins-during-pregnancy_271.bc
  • Byard, Roger, et al. "The Incidence and Characteristic Features of Fatal Hemorrhage Due to Ruptured Varicose Veins: A 10-Year Autopsy Study." The American Journal of Forensic Medicine and Pathology. December 2007. 28; 4. 299-302.
  • Diabetes Health. "Vitamin C can Improve Circulation." May 1, 1996. http://www.diabeteshealth.com/read/1996/05/01/623/vitamin-c--can-improve-circulation/
  • eHealthMD. "What Complications can Varicose Veins Cause?" October 2009.http://www.ehealthmd.com/library/varicoseveins/VAR_compli.html
  • Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine. "Bioflavonoids." 2005.http://www.encyclopedia.com/doc/1G2-3435100092.html
  • Hejna, P. "A Case of Fatal Spontaneous Varicose Vein Rupture; An Example of Incorrect First Aid." Journal of Forensic Sciences. September 2009. 54; 5. 1146-8.
  • Hunter, Julie. "5 Treatments to Get Rid of Varicose Veins." April 4, 2010.http://www.canadianliving.com/style/beauty/5_treatments_to_get_rid_of_varicose_veins.php
  • Loecher, Barbara, et al. "New Choices in Natural Healing for Women." Rodale Press. September 2009.
  • Mayo Clinic. "Varicose Veins." Jan. 16, 2009.http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/varicose-veins/DS00256
  • Mayo Clinic. "Varicose Veins: Treatments and Drugs." Jan. 16, 2009. http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/varicose-veins/DS00256/DSECTION=treatments%2Dand%2Ddrugs
  • McDougall, John. "Constipation, Hemorrhoids, Varicose Veins." April 10, 2010.http://www.drmcdougall.com/med_constipation.html
  • National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine. "Bilberry." April 2008.http://nccam.nih.gov/health/bilberry/
  • National Heart Lung and Blood Institute. "Who is at Risk for Varicose Veins?" April 5, 2010.http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/dci/Diseases/vv/vv_whoisatrisk.html
  • National Institutes of Health. "Varicose Veins." April 4, 2010. http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/varicoseveins.html#cat1
  • Parks, Robin. "Deep Vein Thrombosis." Jan. 15, 2008.http://www.webmd.com/hw-popup/deep-vein-thrombosis
  • Turner, Natasha, ND. "Bravo for Bioflavonoids!" March 2006.http://www.alive.com/4343a12a2.php?subject_bread_cramb=752
  • U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. "Varicose Veins and Spider Veins." April 7, 2010.http://www.womenshealth.gov/faq/varicose-spider-veins.cfm
  • WebMD. "Sclerotherapy for Varicose and Spider Veins." Feb. 28, 2008.http://www.webmd.com/skin-beauty/guide/cosmetic-procedures-sclerotherapy?page=2
  • WebMD. "Varicose Veins: Treatment Overview." Feb. 11, 2008.http://www.webmd.com/skin-problems-and-treatments/tc/varicose-veins-treatment-overview
  • WebMD. "Venous Skin Ulcer." Sept. 3, 2009.http://www.webmd.com/skin-problems-and-treatments/tc/venous-skin-ulcer-topic-overview
  • Wilson, Sue. "How Does the Circulatory System Work?" April 4, 2010. http://www.pbs.org/wnet/redgold/journey/phase2_a1.html