Prev Next  

Advertisement

Top 10 Tips for Preventing Underarm Odor

Lots More Information

UP NEXT

How do deodorants keep you from stinking?

How do deodorants keep you from stinking?

Humans have tried for centuries to mask the scent emanating from their bodies, so what do deodorants do differently?


Related Articles

Sources

  • Arm & Hammer. "What is the deal with ARM & Hammer Baking Soda and pH?" (Sept. 10, 2009) http://www.armhammer.com/basics/magic/.
  • Baker, Donald J., M.D., and Warren R. Heymann, M.D. "Eccrine and Apocrine Glands." (Sept. 3, 2009)http://www.aad.org/education/students/glands.htm.
  • Columbia University. "Go Ask Alice: Body Aroma." (Sept. 3, 2009)http://www.goaskalice-cms.org/scripts/printerfriendly.cfm?questionid=637.
  • Columbia University. "Go Ask Alice: What can I do about my strong body odor?" (Sept. 3, 2009) http://goaskalice-cms.org/scripts/printerfriendly/cfm?questionid=3645.
  • Discovery Trekking.com. "Moisture Wicking Clothing." http://www.discoverytrekking.com/moisture-wicking-clothing.
  • Duke, James A. "The Green Pharmacy." Rodale. 1997.
  • Feldman, Steven R., M.D., Ph.D. Professor of Dermatology, Pathology and Public Health Sciences, Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center, Winston-Salem, N.C. Personal interview. Sept. 9, 2009.
  • Gillette.com. "Gillette's Guide to Body Shaving." (Feb. 9, 2012.) http://www.gillette.com/en/us/mens-style/body-shaving.aspx.
  • Health2009. "Can zinc or magnesium stop body odor?" (Sept. 3, 2009)http://www.health2009.com/Alternative-Medicine/35266.html.
  • Hyperhidrosisweb. Eliminate Underarm Odor -- Naturally!" (Sept. 3, 2009) http://www.hyperhidrosisweb.com/underarm-odor.html.
  • Main, Emily. "Why "Anti-Odor" Clothes Stink." Rodale News. March 11, 2010. (Feb. 9, 2012.) http://www.rodale.com/silver-nanoparticles?page=0,0
  • Mayo Clinic. "Hyperhidrosis: Hyperhidrosis Surgery." (Sept. 11, 2009)http://www.mayoclinic.org/hyperhidrosis/surgery.html
  • Mayo Clinic. "Strong Body Odor Can Often Be Diagnosed and Treated." (Sept. 5, 2009) http://www.mayoclinic.org/medical-edge-newspaper-2009/aug-28a.html.
  • Niering, William A. and Nancy C. Olmstead. "Witch Hazel." National Audubon Society Field Guide to Wildflowers: Eastern Region. Knopf. 1979.
  • Pyatt, Jamie. "Thrill rides cause a stink." The Sun. (Sept.10, 2009)http://www.thesun.co.uk/so1/homepage/news/2594001/Thrill-rides-cause-a-stink.html?.
  • Rehmus, Wingfield, Katherine Brown and Nelly Rubeiz. "Bromhidrosis: Treatment & Medication." eMedicine Dermatology. (Sept. 10, 2009) http://emedicine.medscape.com/article/1072342-treatment.
  • Saad, Gad, Ph.D. "You want to smell better? Don't eat red meat!" Psychology Today. February 22, 2010. http://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/homo-consumericus/201002/you-want-smell-better-don-t-eat-red-meat.
  • Segelken, Roger. "Armpit effect distinguishes kin from strangers." Cornell Chronicle. http://www.news.cornell.edu/chronicle/00/4.13.00/hamsters.html.
  • Shortsleeve, Cassie. "Should you groom your armpits? Men's Health. January 12, 2012. http://news.menshealth.com/should-you-groom-your-armpits/2012/01/12/#respond.
  • Shosteck, Robert. "Witch Hazel." Flowers and Plants: An International Lexicon With Biographical Notes. Quadrangle. 1974.
  • "Strong Body Odor Can Be Diagnosed and Treated." Medical Edge, MayoClinic.com. August 28, 2008. http://www.mayoclinic.org/medical-edge-newspaper-2009/aug-28a.html.
  • Swain, Liz and Rebecca Frey. "Witch Hazel." Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine. Gale. 2005.
  • The People's Pharmacy. "Stopping Underarm Odor Without Antiperspirant." (Sept. 3, 2009)http://www.peoplespharmacy.com/2008/01/18/stopping-undera/.
  • Unilever. "Degree Women Dare to Feel." (Sept. 3, 2009)http://www.degreeclinical.com/Women/women-Clinical-Protection.aspx
  • Weil, Andrew. "Natural Health, Natural Medicine." Houghton Mifflin. 2004.
  • White, Linda B., Steven Foster and the staff of "Herbs for Health." "The Herbal Drugstore." Rodale. 2000.

Advertisement


Advertisement

Advertisement

Advertisement

Advertisement

Advertisement


Advertisement


Recommended

Advertisement

Advertisement