Pilates 101


Pilates Equipment
A woman in Beijing tries to figure out a Pilates exercise machine at a fitness expo.
A woman in Beijing tries to figure out a Pilates exercise machine at a fitness expo.
Frederick J. Brown/AFP/Getty Images

Not all Pilates exercises are done on the mat. During World War I, Joseph Pilates found that he often had to hold patients or use his body to help them perform exercises. He began to experiment with machines that could essentially replace his body. His first machines were made out of the only materials he had on hand: bedsprings and bed frames.

Joseph Pilates eventually gave his inventions names like the Universal Reformer, the Wunda Chair, the Cadillac, the Ladder Barrel, and the Spine Corrector. Most Pilates work can be performed on the mat and with the Universal Reformer, now simply called the Reformer. Other machines can be incorporated into the mix for a more balanced workout. Most Pilates equipment is based on Joseph Pilates' original designs although there are some new machines.

Each Pilates apparatus is multifunctional. The Reformer alone allows for more than 100 different movements. The Cadillac has wooden bars and hanging trapezes to work the arms, legs and trunk against different spring tensions. The Wunda Chair was designed to help develop balance and strength.

Pilates kits are also a popular and less expensive way to enhance a basic Pilates workout. The kits include sets of springs and bungee bands used for resistance training. They also can help keep the body properly aligned during exercise.

To learn more about Pilates and other forms of exercise, look over the links below.

Related HowStuffWorks Articles

More Great Links

Sources

  • "About Pilates." Balanced Body. http://www.pilates.com/BBAPP/V/about/pilates-benefits.html
  • Betz, Sherri. "Modifying Pilates for Clients With Osteoporosis." Inner IDEA.
  • http://www.inneridea.com/library/pilates-osteoporosis-pilates-exercises-osteoporosis-exercises
  • Body Control Pilates. http://www.bodycontrol.co.uk/lynne.html
  • "Charles Atlas." Encyclopaedia of World Biography. http://www.bookrags.com/biography/charles-atlas/
  • Cruickshank, Anne. Myofascial Release Clinic UK. http://www.myofascialreleaseclinic.com/pilates.htm
  • "Dancers." Pilates Central. http://www.pilatescentral.co.uk/pilates-for-dancers.asp
  • "An Exercise in Balance: The Pilates Phenomenon." Pilates Method Alliance. http://www.pilatesmethodalliance.org/i4a/pages/index.cfm?pageid=1
  • Harris, Deborah. "Yoga vs. Pilates: Which is better?" http://www.selfgrowth.com/articles/Harris10.html
  • "John Harvey Kellogg." The Natural Health Perspective. http://naturalhealthperspective.com/tutorials/john-kellogg.html
  • "Joseph Pilates Biography." Easy Vigor. http://www.easyvigour.net.nz/pilates/h_biography.htm
  • Kellogg Company. http://www.kelloggcompany.com
  • Kellogg, John Harvey. "The Simple Life in a Nutshell." http://lifestylelaboratory.com/articles/simple-life-nutshell.html
  • "Osteogenesis Imperfecta." http://www.oif.org/site/PageServer
  • "Osteoporosis." American College of Rheumatology. http://www.rheumatology.org/public/factsheets/osteopor_new.asp#1
  • "Paget's Disease." The Arthritis Society. http://www.arthritis.ca/types%20of%20arthritis/pagets/default.asp?s=1
  • Pendleton Pilates. http://www.pendletonpilates.com/training.aspx
  • "Pilates Equipment Glossery." Peak Pilates. http://www.peakpilates.com/resources/glossary.aspx
  • Pilates Midwest Studio. http://www.pilatesmichigan.com/studio.html
  • "Pilates Pictured in Poses: the 34 Classic Free Matwork Exercises." Easy Vigor.
  • http://www.easyvigour.net.nz/pilates/h_pilates_classic.htm#34
  • "Pilates has Some Drawbacks." Stay Fit.http://stay-fit.extrahealthy.info/2007/01/30/pilates-has-some-drawbacks%E2%80%94take-a-look/
  • "Pilates vs. Yoga." Pilates Insight. http://www.pilatesinsight.com/pilates/pilates-vs-yoga.aspx
  • "Qigong in psychotherapy." http://www.breathingqigong.com/
  • Siler, Brooke. "The Pilates Body." Broadway Books: New York. 2000.
  • "What is the Method?" United States Pilates Association.
  • http://www.unitedstatespilatesassociation.com/method.asp
  • "What is Qigong?" Qienergy. http://www.qi-energy.com/whatisqigong.htm
  • Wilson, Lee. "The Trademark Guide: A friendly handbook to protecting and profiting from trademarks." Allworth Press: New York. 1998.

More to Explore