10 Reasons You Have a Runny Nose


Lots More Information

UP NEXT

Could Dog Flu Make the Jump to Humans?

Could Dog Flu Make the Jump to Humans?

Can the flu virus jump from species to species? HowStuffWorks looks at the science of canine flu.


Related Articles

Sources

  • Better Medicine. "Runny Nose." (June 13, 2011) http://www.bettermedicine.com/article/runny-nose
  • Buccino, Dr. Kenneth. "Foreign Body, Nose." (June 15, 2011) http://www.emedicinehealth.com/foreign_body_nose/article_em.htm
  • Centers for Disease Control. "Runny Nose Q&As." (June 13, 2011) http://www.cdc.gov/getsmart/campaign-materials/print-materials/FactSheet-RunnyNose.html
  • Harris, Dr. Norman J. "Stuffy Nose, Runny Nose, How the Nose Works." Oto Hns. (June 13, 2011) http://www.otohns.net/default.asp?id=13085
  • Highlights Kids. "Why Does Crying Make Your Nose Run?" (June 13, 2011) http://www.highlightskids.com/science/sciencequestions/h1sciqcrynoserun.asp
  • Kids Health. "Why Does My Nose Run?" (June 13, 2011) http://kidshealth.org/kid/talk/qa/nose_run.html
  • Li, Dr. James T. "Question: Nasal spray addiction: Is it real?" Mayo Clinic. (June 13, 2011) http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/nasal-spray-addiction/AN01241
  • Mayo Clinic. "Nonallergic rhinitis." (June 15, 2011) http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/nonallergic-rhinitis/DS00809
  • Mayo Clinic. "Runny Nose." (June 13, 2011) http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/runny-nose/MY00177
  • Medical News Today. "Millions Suffer from Addiction to OTC Nasal Sprays." July 13, 2005. (June 13, 2011) http://www.medicalnewstoday.com/releases/27323.php
  • Medicine Net. "Runny Nose Symptoms." (June 13, 2011) http://www.medicinenet.com/runny_nose/symptoms.htm
  • Mother Nature. "Nose, Runny." (June 13, 2011) http://www.mothernature.com/l/Symptoms-Their-Causes-Cures/Nose-Runny_2243.html
  • National Institute on Drug Abuse. "NIDA InfoFacts: Understanding Drug Abuse and Addiction." (June 15, 2011) http://www.nida.nih.gov/infofacts/understand.html
  • NCEMI. "Nasal Foreign Bodies." (June 15, 2011) http://www.ncemi.org/cse/cse0309.htm
  • Real Age. "Relieving Symptoms: Self-Care." (June 15, 2011) http://www.realage.com/check-your-health/clear-your-sinuses/congestion-runny-nose-remedies
  • Thompson, Dr. James. "Nasal Spray Addiction: Know the Facts and Avoid the Danger." Health Central. (June 13, 2011) http://www.healthcentral.com/allergy/medications-253494-5.html
  • University of Illinois at Chicago. "FYI About Your Eyes." (June 13, 2011) http://www.uic.edu/com/eye/LearningAboutVision/EyeFacts/FYIAboutEyes.shtml
  • U.S. National Library of Medicine Medline Plus. "Allergy to mold – animal dander – dust." (June 16, 2011) http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/ency/article/000814.htm
  • U.S. National Library of Medicine Medline Plus. "Common cold." (June 16, 2011) http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/ency/article/000678.htm
  • U.S. National Library of Medicine Medline Plus. "Hay fever." (June 16, 2011) http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/hayfever.html
  • Watson, Stephanie. "The Truth About Mucus." Web MD. (June 15, 2011) http://www.webmd.com/allergies/features/the-truth-about-mucus
  • Web MD. "An Overview of Sinusitis." (June 16, 2011) http://www.webmd.com/allergies/guide/allergies-sinusitis
  • Web MD. "Nasal Saline Irrigation and Neti Pots." (June 13, 2011) http://www.webmd.com/allergies/sinus-pain-pressure-9/neti-pots
  • Wise Geek. "Why Do Spicy Foods Cause Runny Noses?" (June 13, 2011) http://www.wisegeek.com/why-do-spicy-foods-cause-runny-noses.htm
  • Your ER Doc. "Spicy Food and Runny Noses." Oct. 16, 2008. (June 13, 2011) http://www.yourerdoc.com/spicy-food-and-runny-noses/
  • Zoc Doc. "What Causes A Runny Nose?" (June 13, 2011) http://www.zocdoc.com/answers/3969/what-causes-a-runny-nose

More to Explore