PrevNext

How Plasma Donation Works

By: Maria Trimarchi  | 

Lots More Information

Author's Note: How Plasma Donation Works

Fun research fact: Just as there's a universal red cell donor, type 0 negative, there's also a universal plasma donor; anyone with the AB blood type (positive or negative) is considered a universal plasma donor, which means any person, no matter what their blood type is, can be transfused with plasma donated someone with an AB blood type. Only about 4 percent of the population has type AB blood, though, making universal plasma donors in high demand -- luckily, any type of blood can donate plasma.

Related Articles

More Great Links

  • Access Biologicals. "Physicians FAQS." (Dec. 21, 2013) http://www.accessclinical.com/faqs/
  • American Red Cross. "Donating Blood." (Dec. 21, 2013) http://www.redcrossblood.org/donating-blood
  • American Red Cross. "Learn About Blood." (Dec. 21, 2013) http://www.redcrossblood.org/learn-about-blood/blood-components
  • Baxter. "How Plasma-Derived Treatments are Produced." http://www.baxter.com/press_room/factsheets/plasma_therapies_overview.html
  • Biography. "Edwin Cohn." (Dec. 21, 2013) http://www.biography.com/people/edwin-cohn-9252667
  • BioLife Plasma Services. "Are You Eligible to Donate with BioLife?" (Dec. 21, 2013) http://www.biolifeplasma.com/become-donor/eligibility.html
  • Blood Centers of the Pacific. "56 Facts About Blood and Blood Donation." (Dec. 21, 2013) http://www.bloodcenters.org/blood-donation/facts-about-blood-donation/
  • DonatingPlasma. "Donor Frequently Asked Questions." (Dec. 21, 2013) http://www.donatingplasma.org/donation/donor-faq
  • Dugdale III, David C. "Albumin." National Institutes of Health. Feb. 13, 2013. (Dec. 21, 2013) http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/ency/article/003480.htm
  • GE Healthcare Life Sciences. "Blood Plasma Fractionation." (Dec. 21, 2013) http://www.gelifesciences.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/catalog/en/GELifeSciences-us/applications/blood-plasma-fractionation/
  • GEA Pharma Systems. "Plant for processing of Blood Plasma." (Dec. 21, 2013) http://www.gea-ps.com/npsportal/cmsdoc.nsf/WebDoc/webb8qpmxa
  • Lusher, Jeanne M. "Hemophilia: From Plasma to Recombinant Factors." 50 Years in Hematology: Research That Revolutionized Patient Care. American Society of Hematology. December 2008. (Dec. 21, 2013) http://www.hematology.org/publications/50-years-in-hematology/4737.aspx
  • MedicineNet.com. "Biological Therapy." April 16, 2002. (Dec. 21, 2013) http://www.medicinenet.com/biological_therapy/article.htm
  • Nebraska Community Blood Bank. "General Donation Facts." (Dec. 21, 2013) http://www.ncbb.org/general-donation-facts
  • Plasma Protein Therapeutics Association (PPTA). (Dec. 21, 2013) http://www.pptaglobal.org/
  • Ross-Flanigan, Nancy. "Gammaglobulin." Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health. 2002. (Dec. 21, 2013) http://www.healthline.com/galecontent/gammaglobulin
  • Talecris Plasma Resources. (Dec. 21, 2013) http://www.talecrisplasma.com/
  • The Foundation for American's Blood Centers. "Blood Donation FAQs." (Dec. 21, 2013) http://www.americasblood.org/donate-blood/blood-donation-faqs.aspx
  • The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center. "Facts About Blood." (Dec. 21, 2013) http://medicalcenter.osu.edu/patientcare/healthcare_services/blood_disorders/facts_about_blood/Pages/index.aspx
  • UCLA Health. "Can I Donate? Eligibility." (Dec. 21, 2013) http://gotblood.ucla.edu/body.cfm?id=21

Featured