How Sigmund Freud Worked


Lots More Information

Author's Note: How Sigmund Freud Worked

I had forgotten how many concepts can be traced to Freud. I remembered his work on dreams and the id, ego and superego, but I didn't realize he was the person behind penis envy and anal retentiveness. He also touted the very erroneous notion that women who could only climax via clitoral stimulation had something wrong with them. (Today, it's commonly known the clitoris is the major sensory area in women.) It would have been quite interesting to see what a psychoanalysis of Freud revealed.

Related Articles

More Great Links

Sources

  • BBC. "Sigmund Freud (1856-1939)." (March 26, 2017) http://www.bbc.co.uk/history/historic_figures/freud_sigmund.shtml
  • Biography. "Sigmund Freud." April 2, 2016. (April 20, 2017) http://www.biography.com/people/sigmund-freud-9302400
  • Changing Minds. "Freud's Psychosexual Stage Theory." (March 28, 2017) http://changingminds.org/explanations/learning/freud_stage.htm
  • Coffey, Rebecca. "The Elephant in Sigmund Freud's Consulting Room." Psychology Today. Nov. 17, 2015. (April 20, 2017) https://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/the-bejeezus-out-me/201511/the-elephant-in-sigmund-freuds-consulting-room
  • Dvorsky, George. "Why Freud Still Matters, When He Was Wrong About Almost Everything." Gizmodo. Aug. 7, 2013. (March 26, 2017) http://io9.gizmodo.com/why-freud-still-matters-when-he-was-wrong-about-almost-1055800815
  • Grayling, AC. "Scientist or storyteller?" The Guardian. June 22, 2002. (March 30, 2017) https://www.theguardian.com/books/2002/jun/22/socialsciences.gender
  • Holocaust Education & Archive Research Team. "Sigmund Freud and The Holocaust." http://www.holocaustresearchproject.org/ghettos/freud.html
  • Klein, Christopher. "10 Things You May Not Know About Sigmund Freud." History. Sept. 23, 2014. (March 31, 2017) http://www.history.com/news/10-things-you-may-not-know-about-sigmund-freud
  • Kubota, Taylor. "Is Penis Envy Real?" Live Science. May 7, 2016. (March 28, 2017) http://www.livescience.com/54682-is-penis-envy-real.html
  • Kunst, Jennifer. "What Is Psychoanalysis?" Psychology Today. Jan. 15, 2014. (March 29, 2017) https://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/headshrinkers-guide-the-galaxy/201401/what-is-psychoanalysis
  • Latson, Jennifer. "Why Freud Chose Nazi Germany Over America." Time. May 6, 2015. (April 19, 2017) http://time.com/3840374/freud-birthday-anniversary-history/
  • McLeod, Saul. "Defense Mechanisms." Simply Psychology. 2009. (April 19, 2017) https://www.simplypsychology.org/defense-mechanisms.html
  • McLeod, Saul. "Sigmund Freud." Simply Psychology. 2013. (March 27, 2017) https://www.simplypsychology.org/Sigmund-Freud.html
  • McGowan, Kat. "The Second Coming of Sigmund Freud." Discover. April 2014. (March 26, 2017) http://discovermagazine.com/2014/april/14-the-second-coming-of-sigmund-freud
  • NPSA. "Neuropsychoanalysis." (March 31, 2017) https://npsa-association.org/
  • PBS. "Sigmund Freud (1856-1939)." (March 26, 2017). http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/aso/databank/entries/bhfreu.html
  • Psychologist World. "Sigmund Freud." (April 19, 2017) https://www.psychologistworld.com/psychologists/sigmund-freud