How to Smooth Out Rough Skin on Your Face


Treating Rough Skin on Your Face

Even if you take preventive measures, you may still wind up with a case of rough, irritated, flaky skin. Luckily, there are effective ways to treat it:

  • Moisturize several times a day with a product containing ceramides, petrolatum or lanolin. Creams with lactic acid and urea, available in both prescription and over-the-counter forms, can help soothe extremely dry skin and keratosis pilaris [source: Daily Glow].
  • Banish flakes by exfoliating once or twice a week with a gentle scrub, an exfoliating brush or a wet washcloth [source: Oliver]. Cleansers and lotions with chemical exfoliants, such as alpha hydroxy acids, can also remove dead skin cells [source: Daily Glow]. Ask your dermatologist before exfoliating if you have a chronic skin condition.
  • See a dermatologist for extremely rough skin, especially if you're experiencing itchiness and discomfort. If an underlying skin condition is to blame, he or she may prescribe an oral or topical medication, such as an antibiotic or corticosteroid.
  • Talk to your doctor about in-office treatments for rough skin, including chemical peels, microdermabrasion, laser resurfacing and photodynamic therapy. It may take several sessions to see significant results.

For more information about rough skin and dryness, check out the links below.

Related Articles

More Great Links

Sources

  • American Academy of Dermatology. "Rosacea." (July 30, 2013) http://www.aad.org/dermatology-a-to-z/diseases-and-treatments/q---t/rosacea
  • American Skin Association. "Dry Skin." (July 30, 2013) http://www.americanskin.org/resource/dryskin.php
  • Daily Glow. "Keratosis Pilaris: How to Cope With 'Chicken Skin.'" August 15, 2011. (July 30, 2013) http://www.dailyglow.com/skin-problems/keratosis-pilaris.html
  • Daily Glow. "Treating Dry Skin: Exfoliation to Remove Dead Skin." August 15, 2011. (July 30, 2013) http://www.dailyglow.com/skin-care-treatments/dead-skin-treatment.html
  • Mayo Clinic. "Dry skin." (July 30, 2013) http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/dry-skin/DS00560
  • MedicineNet. "Psoriasis." (July 30, 2013) http://www.medicinenet.com/psoriasis/article.htm
  • MedlinePlus. "Actinic keratosis." (July 30, 2013) http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/ency/article/000827.htm
  • O'Neill, Megan. "The 5 Most Common Causes of Dry Skin." Spry Living. (July 30, 2013) http://spryliving.com/articles/the-5-most-common-causes-of-dry-skin/
  • Oliver, Dana. "How To Exfoliate Your Face And Get Smooth Skin In 3 Minutes." Huffington Post. January 24, 2013. (July 30, 2013) http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/01/24/exfoliate-face-how-to_n_2528493.html
  • Watson, Stephanie. "What's Causing Your Dry Skin?" WebMD. (July 30, 2013) http://www.webmd.com/beauty/skin/dry-skin-causes
  • WebMD. "Eczema Health Center." (July 30, 2013) http://www.webmd.com/skin-problems-and-treatments/eczema/types-of-eczema
  • WebMD. "The Mind-Skin Connection." (July 30, 2013) http://www.webmd.com/beauty/skin/effects-of-stress-on-your-skin
  • Wicker, Kimberly. "Keratosis Pilaris and rough, bumpy skin." Examiner.com. (July 30, 2013) http://www.examiner.com/article/keratosis-pilaris-and-rough-bumpy-skin
  • Wu, Jessica. "Top 10 Causes of Dry Skin." Everyday Health. September 20, 2010. (July 30, 2013) http://www.everydayhealth.com/health-report/dry-skin-relief/dr-wu-causes-of-dry-skin.aspx

More to Explore