Prev Next  

Advertisement

How Night Terrors Work

Lots More Information

Author's Note: How Night Terrors Work

When I was a kid I had a habit of sitting bolt upright in bed and screaming in what sounded like some alien language while staring at an invisible presence in the room. This, of course, freaked my parents out, and it scares me just thinking about it. Who was I talking to? In what language? It's all very well to say the whole thing was just some glitch in my developing central nervous system, but it's still pretty eerie, especially in the middle of the night.

Related Articles

More Great Links

Sources

  • Adee, Sally. "Night Terrors." The Last Word on Nothing. Jan. 18, 2012. (June 29, 2016) http://www.lastwordonnothing.com/2012/01/18/night-terrors/
  • American Academy of Sleep Medicine (AASM). "Violent Behaviors That Occur During Sleep Disorders Are Provoked, Study Suggests." ScienceDaily. Aug. 3, 2007. (June 30, 2016) https://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2007/08/070801091411.htm
  • American Sleep Association (ASA). "What is Sleep?" 2016. (June 29, 2016) https://www.sleepassociation.org/patients-general-public/what-is-sleep/
  • BabyCenter. "Night terrors: Why they happen and what to do about them." May 2016. (June 29, 2016) http://www.babycenter.com/0_night-terrors-why-they-happen-and-what-to-do-about-them_142.bc
  • Blake. "Biography." (June 29, 2016) http://www.blakeofficial.com/biography/
  • Borreli, Lizette. "Night Terrors In Adults: When Sleeping Turns to Terror After Dark." Medical Daily. Feb. 6, 2015. (June 28, 2016) http://www.medicaldaily.com/night-terrors-adults-when-sleeping-turns-terror-after-dark-321100
  • Colton, H.R. and B.M. Altevogt (editors). "Sleep Disorders and Sleep Deprivation: An Unmet Public Health Problem." National Academies Press (U.S.). 2006. (June 29, 2016) http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK19956/
  • Conneely, Mary Moynihan. "Children's nightmares can lead to psychosis." Examiner. March 1, 2014. (July 7, 2016) http://www.examiner.com/article/children-s-nightmares-can-lead-to-psychosis
  • Cox, Tony. "Brain Maturity Extends Well Beyond Teen Years." NPR. Oct. 10, 2011. (June 29, 2016) http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=141164708
  • Daily Mail Reporter. "Miracle bedsheets finally stop nightly terrors that boy, 9, had suffered for six years." Daily Mail. Aug. 17, 2011. (June 29, 2016) http://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-2026894/Night-terrors-Lewis-9-nearer-professional-footballer-goal-new-sheets-stop-screaming-sleep.html
  • Mayo Clinic Staff. "Sleep Terrors (Night Terrors)." Mayo Clinic. Aug. 12, 2014. (June 28, 2016) http://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/night-terrors/basics/definition/con-20032552
  • MedlinePlus. "Night Terror." U.S. National Library of Medicine. April 21, 2015. (June 28, 2016) https://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/ency/article/000809.htm
  • Methven, Jon. "Why We Sleep Together." The Atlantic. June 11, 2014. (June 28, 2016) http://www.theatlantic.com/health/archive/2014/06/why-we-sleep-together/371477/
  • National Sleep Foundation (NSF). "What Happens When You Sleep?" (June 28, 2016) https://sleepfoundation.org/how-sleep-works/what-happens-when-you-sleep
  • Randall, David K. "Rethinking Sleep." The New York Times. Sept. 22, 2012. (June 28, 2016) http://www.nytimes.com/2012/09/23/opinion/sunday/rethinking-sleep.html
  • Siclari, Francesca et al. "Violence in Sleep." Medscape. Brain. Vol. 133, No. 12. Pages 3494-3509. 2010. (June 30, 2016) http://brain.oxfordjournals.org/content/133/12/3494
  • Wigg, David. "I'm a fully grown man – but I still get night terrors that make me scream like a baby." Daily Mail. Nov. 3, 2009. (June 2, 2016) http://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-1224768/Im-fully-grown-man--I-night-terrors-make-scream-like-baby.html
  • Yuhas, Daisy. "Sleep Violence: A Real Danger, Little Understood." Scientific American. June 14, 2012. (June 30, 2016) http://blogs.scientificamerican.com/observations/sleep-violence-a-real-danger-little-understood/

Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement



Advertisement

Advertisement