Prev NEXT  

Advertisement

10 Tips for Identifying and Treating Skin Rashes

1

Dealing with Chronic Rashes

In conditions like eczema or psoriasis, there is no cure. These rashes are thought to be genetic, and dealing with the symptoms is the only treatment available [source: Mayo Clinic].

In most cases of atopic dermatitis, the most serious form of eczema, it begins in childhood. The condition fades in many patients, though it can come back or cause other symptoms like easily irritated skin or skin infections [source: National Eczema Association].

Advertisement

Though there's not a cure, topical creams containing cortisone are effective are reducing the length of a flare-up in both eczema and psoriasis [source: Mayo Clinic].

Related Articles

Sources

  • American Academy of Dermatology. "Dermatology A-Z." 2012. (Aug. 12, 2012) http://www.aad.org/skin-conditions/dermatology-a-to-z
  • American Academy of Dermatology. "Types of Eczema: Contact Dermatitis." Dec. 7, 2006. (Aug. 12, 2012) http://www.skincarephysicians.com/eczemanet/contact_dermatitis.html
  • American Academy of Family Physicians. "Intertrigo." December 2010. (Aug. 12, 2012) http://familydoctor.org/online/famdocen/home/common/skin/disorders/877.printerview.html
  • Cleveland Clinic. "Diaper Rash." Sept. 24, 2010. (Aug. 12, 2012) http://my.clevelandclinic.org/disorders/diaper_rash/hic_diaper_rash.aspx
  • Cleveland Clinic. "Rashes/Red Skin." 2012. (Aug. 12, 2012) http://my.clevelandclinic.org/disorders/rashes/derm_overview.aspx
  • Kids' Health. "About Skin, Hair and Nails." 2012. (Aug. 13, 2012) http://kidshealth.org/parent/general/body_basics/skin_hair_nails.html#
  • Mayo Clinic. "Common Skin Rashes." Dec. 21, 2010. (Aug. 11, 2012) http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/skin-rash/SN00016
  • Mayo Clinic. "Poison Ivy Rash: Treatments and Drugs." April 30, 2010. (Aug. 12, 2012) http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/poison-ivy/DS00774/DSECTION=treatments-and-drugs
  • Mayo Clinic. "Psoriasis." Feb. 25, 2011. (Aug. 12, 2012) http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/psoriasis/DS00193
  • Mayo Clinic. "Types of Dermatitis." April 24, 2010. (Aug. 11, 2012) http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/dermatitis/DS00543
  • Medline Plus. "Tinea Corporis." Oct. 4, 2010. (Aug. 12, 2012) http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/ency/article/000877.htm
  • National Eczema Association. "All About Atopic Dermatitis." 2012. (Aug. 12, 2012) http://www.nationaleczema.org/living-with-eczema/all-about-atopic-dermatitis
  • National Institute on Aging. "Shingles." May 16, 2012 (Aug. 13, 2012) http://www.nia.nih.gov/HealthInformation/Publications/shingles.htm
  • New Zealand Dermatological Society. "Exanthems." Oct. 10, 2010. (Aug. 13, 2012) http://www.dermnetnz.org/viral/viral-exanthem.html
  • WebMD. "Skin Conditions: Common Rashes." 2012. (Aug. 11, 2012) http://www.webmd.com/skin-problems-and-treatments/guide/common-rashes

UP NEXT

Should You Pop Your Blisters?

Should You Pop Your Blisters?

HowStuffWorks finds out whether it's better medically to pop that blister or leave it alone.


Advertisement


Advertisement

Advertisement

Advertisement

Advertisement

Advertisement



Advertisement


Recommended

Advertisement

Advertisement